Old buildings have a charm and a feel that is all their own and this also holds true of Newtown Local Court. It’s in the wood panelling, the unique features such as the decapitated head of Queen Victoria looking down on those who enter the building. It is also the slate stairs, worn by over a century of feet, the prisoner’s dock in the centre of the court with its heavy iron bars, even the single awful toilet located quite some distance from the court room along a dingy, Dickensian corridor.
The Court House is located in Australia Street and was built between 1883 and 1885.
Here are some pics of it (click on the images to enlarge):